Our Staff

Administration

Steve Kibbee

principal@sandylakeacademy.ca

Principal, Bible 7-12

Qualifications: BSc.H. in Chemistry (2005) University of Guelph, M. Ed. in Educational Leadership (2018) Yorkville University

Endorsements: Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics

Teaching Certifications: North American Division of Seventh-day Adventists

Experience: 8 years teaching experience in Guam and Nova Scotia

Jill Kinney
secretary@sandylakeacademy.ca

Secretary/Treasurer/Registrar

Qualifications: AS in Accounting (1994) Southern Adventist University

Experience: 12 years of Office Administration experience in BC and Nova Scotia

Elementary Staff

Viktoria Brunets

vbrunets@sandylakeacademy.ca

Junior Primary – Primary

Qualifications: B.Ed.in Music Education (1996) D. Zador State Music College of Uzgorod 

Endorsement: 

Teaching Certifications: North American Division of Seventh-day Adventists and Diploma Early Childhood Education, Nova Scotia College of ECE 

Experience: 16 years teaching experience in Ukraine and Nova Scotia.

Isabelle Tingley

ISTINGLEY@sandylakeacademy.ca

Elementary Grades 3/4

Qualifications: B.Ed.in Elementary Education (2020) Burman University

Endorsement: 

Teaching Certifications: Alberta, Nova Scotia and North American Division of Seventh-day Adventists 

Experience: First year of teaching at Sandy Lake Academy.

Gina Walker

gwalker@sandylakeacademy.ca

Elementary Grades 5/6

Qualifications: B.Ed. in Elementary Education (1994) Canadian Union College

Endorsement: Elementary, Educational Technology, Junior Academy Music

Teaching Certifications: Nova Scotia and North American Division of Seventh-day Adventists

Experience:
26 years teaching experience in British Columbia and Nova Scotia.

Secondary Staff

José Dias

JDIAS@sandylakeacademy.ca

Music JP-12, Technology

Qualifications: M.Mus. (2009) ISEIT Almada, Portugal,  M. Mus. (Thesis TBD) Universidade de Aveiro.

Endorsements: 

Teaching Certifications: North American Division of Seventh-day Adventists 

Experience: 20 years of music teaching experience in Portugal and Nova Scotia

Shirleen Luttrell

STLUTTRELL@sandylakeacademy.ca

Math 7-12

Qualifications: B.Sc. (1995) Atlantic Union College, M.A. in Teaching (2002) Andrews University

Endorsements: Secondary Math, Integrated Science, and Business

Teaching Certifications:  Nova Scotia, North American Division of Seventh-day Adventists

Experience:  23 years of teaching experience in Illinois, Michigan, Virginia, West Virginia (USA) and Nova Scotia

Ron Scott

rscott@sandylakeacademy.ca

Sciences 7-12, PE 7-9, Canadian History 11

Qualifications: MS in Biology (1996) Walla Walla University, B.Ed. in Secondary Science Education (1982) Union College.

Endorsements: Biology, Chemistry, Physics, General Science, and English

Teaching Certifications: Manitoba, Nova Scotia and North American Division of Seventh-day Adventists (Professional)

Experience: 35 years teaching experience in Washington (USA), British Columbia, Manitoba, Newfoundland and Nova Scotia

Kalie Todd

ktodd@sandylakeacademy.ca

English 7-12, Social Studies 7-12, Elementary PE

Qualifications: B.Ed.in Secondary Education (2020) Burman University

Endorsements: 

Teaching Certifications: Alberta, Nova Scotia and North American Division of Seventh-day Adventists

Experience: Second year of teaching at Sandy Lake Academy